County

Noble County, Ohio

Ohio · 14,276 residents (July 2025 estimate) · 6 ZIP codes · 14 cities, villages and townships

14,276 people (July 2025 estimate), +1.2% since the 2020 census; life expectancy 80.7 years; median household income $63,623 (2024). The county in numbers

Noble County, Ohio

Noble County in numbers

The public records that are kept county by county, in 18 blocks. Every figure names its source; a tile's small line gives the comparison or the date.

Population

How many people live here, how the count has moved since 2020 and since 1900, and how the USDA classes the county.

residents, July 2025 estimate
14,276
Census Bureau vintage 2025
since the April 2020 census
+1.2%
14,111 counted in 2020
births since April 2020
686
deaths since April 2020
757
net migration since April 2020
+273
people who moved in, minus people who moved out
net domestic migration, 2025
+35
moved in from elsewhere in the U.S., minus moved out
net international migration, 2025
-2

Noble County peaked at 21,138 people in 1880.

It is 27% smaller than it was in 1900.

USDA rural-urban continuum code 9 of 9 (1 is the most metropolitan): nonmetro - urban population of fewer than 5,000, not adjacent to a metro area.

USDA ERS county typology (2015 codes): a nonmetro county with a government-dependent economy, flagged for low employment, being a retirement destination.

Noble County population by census year (Census Bureau)
YearPeopleSource
186020,751first census that counted the county
190019,466decennial census
195011,750decennial census
197010,428decennial census
200014,058decennial census
202014,111decennial census
202514,276July estimate

Source: Census Bureau Population Estimates Program (vintage 2025, join_popest.py); decennial counts 1900-1990 from 'Population of States and Counties of the United States 1790-1990', 2000/2010 from intercensal files; USDA ERS Rural-Urban Continuum Codes, 2023; USDA ERS county typology codes, 2015 edition · Census population estimates · USDA ERS county codes · USDA ERS county typology · About this topic

Moving in and out

Households that changed county between the tax returns they filed in 2022 and 2023, counted by the IRS.

households moved in, 2022 to 2023
400
tax returns filed from a new county
households moved out
376
net households
+24
moved in, minus moved out
households stayed put
9,498
Where arriving households came from (IRS returns, 2022 to 2023)
FromHouseholds
Guernsey, OH134
Washington, OH53
Where leaving households went (IRS returns, 2022 to 2023)
ToHouseholds
Guernsey, OH129
Washington, OH40

Source: IRS Statistics of Income county-to-county migration flows, 2022-2023 · IRS migration data · About this topic

Income and poverty

The Census Bureau's 2024 small-area estimates for the county.

of residents below the poverty line, 2024
13.9%
of children below the poverty line, 2024
14.4%
median household income, 2024
$63,623

Source: Census SAIPE 2024 county estimates · Census SAIPE · About this topic

Jobs and wages

Unemployment in the latest month and what employers in the county pay, from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

unemployment rate, July 2026
4.5%
6.6% a year earlier
people in the labor force, July 2026
4,252
looking for work
190
average weekly wage, first quarter of 2026
$1,077
+8.1% on the year
jobs covered by unemployment insurance
2,953
-0.7% on the year
establishments
265
Largest private sectors, first quarter of 2026 (BLS QCEW)
SectorJobsAverage weekly wage
retail240$478
manufacturing209$1,454
transportation and warehousing133$1,448

Source: BLS Local Area Unemployment Statistics; BLS Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages, 2026 Q1 · BLS local unemployment · BLS QCEW · About this topic

The county economy

What the county produces and earns, from the Bureau of Economic Analysis.

real GDP, 2024 (2017 dollars)
$467 million
+8.5% since 2019
personal income per person, 2024
$34,940
88th of Ohio's 88 counties
change in income per person since 2019
+24%
before inflation

Source: BEA regional accounts: county GDP (CAGDP1), per capita personal income (CAINC1), 2024 · BEA county GDP · About this topic

Federal money

What the federal government obligated to the county in fiscal 2025, by county of performance; Social Security, Medicare and most benefits are not counted.

in federal contracts performed in the county, fiscal 2025
$21,945
$2 a resident
in federal grants, fiscal 2025
$48 million
$3,382 a resident

Source: USAspending federal awards by county of performance, fiscal 2025 · USAspending · About this topic

Health rankings

County Health Rankings 2025 measures for the county, with the Ohio figure alongside.

life expectancy at birth
80.7 years
Ohio 75.2
years of life lost before 75, per 100,000 (premature death)
8,739.6
Ohio 9,740
population health group among U.S. counties
4 of 10
1 is healthiest
community conditions group among U.S. counties
7 of 10
1 is best
of children in poverty
15.2%
Ohio 17.5%
uninsured
8.7%
Ohio 7.1%

No community water system in the county had a health-based drinking water violation in the rankings' reporting year.

County Health Rankings 2025: Noble County and Ohio
MeasureNoble CountyOhio
Life expectancy at birth (years)80.775.2
Years of potential life lost before 75, per 100,000 (premature death)8,739.69,740
Adults in fair or poor health22.2%17.9%
Uninsured8.7%7.1%
Children in poverty15.2%17.5%
Median household income$61,751$67,873
Income inequality (80th to 20th percentile household income ratio)5.44.6
Households with severe housing problems10.1%12.7%
People per primary care physician14,1761,328
People per mental health provider842286
People per dentist4,7781,535
Preventable hospital stays per 100,000 Medicare enrollees2,7563,033
Medicare enrollees with a flu vaccination47%51%
Injury deaths per 100,00075.4100.7
Suicides per 100,00014.7
Child deaths per 100,000 (under 18)59.2
Infant deaths per 1,000 live births7.0
Teen births per 1,000 females 15 to 1926.317.4
Average daily fine-particle pollution (PM2.5, µg/m³)7.47.8
Any drinking water violation in the countyNo
Population used by the rankings14,311
Population health group (1 to 10 among U.S. counties; 1 is healthiest)4
Community conditions group (1 to 10 among U.S. counties; 1 is best)7

Source: County Health Rankings & Roadmaps 2025 (University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute) · County Health Rankings · About this topic

Cancer

New cancers and cancer deaths per 100,000 people, age-adjusted, from the National Cancer Institute's State Cancer Profiles.

new cancers a year per 100,000 people, age-adjusted, 2018 to 2022
375.6
Ohio 472.9 · U.S. 448.6
cases a year
87
incidence trend
stable
cancer deaths a year per 100,000, age-adjusted, 2019 to 2023
105.0
Ohio 160.3 · U.S. 145.4
cancer deaths a year
27
death-rate trend
falling
-2.6% a year
Cancer incidence by site, 2018 to 2022 (NCI State Cancer Profiles)
SitePer 100,000OhioCases a yearTrend
Lung46.063.613stable
Colorectal43.838.410rising
Female breast122.8133.09stable
Prostate63.2120.813stable
Leukemia22.613.04not reported
Bladder13.321.84not reported

Source: NCI State Cancer Profiles, county incidence 2018-2022 and mortality 2019-2023 · NCI cancer profiles · About this topic

Drug overdoses

Provisional overdose death counts by county from the CDC, 12 months at a time.

overdose deaths in the 12 months ending September 2025
0
CDC provisional count
deaths per 100,000 residents
0.0
Ohio 20.8 in the 12 months ending December 2025
deaths a year earlier
0
highest 12-month total since 2020
0
12 months ending March 2020

The county count has been suppressed (1 to 9 deaths) in every month after September 2025.

Source: CDC NCHS provisional county drug overdose deaths, 12-month-ending counts; CDC VSRR for the Ohio row · CDC overdose data · About this topic

Medicare

Who in the county is on Medicare and how they are covered, from CMS enrollment counts.

people on Medicare, 2025
2,668
19% of residents
aged 65 or over
2,381
younger people with disabilities
287
chose a Medicare Advantage plan
51.7%
also on Medicaid
14.1%
with Part D drug coverage
79.9%
enrollment since 2020
+0.8%
2,646 enrollees then

Source: CMS Medicare Monthly Enrollment by county, 2025 · CMS Medicare Monthly Enrollment · About this topic

Severe weather

Hail, wind, flooding and tornado reports logged for the county in NOAA's Storm Events database.

severe weather reports, 2016 to 2026
112
NOAA Storm Events log
in reported damage
$237,200
largest hail
1.75 in
April 1, 2026

The costliest event was flash floods on June 16, 2022, $80,000 in damage. Media reported that flooding caused evacuations along State Route 821 between Belle Valley and Cambridge. Also the local emergency manager reported numerous roa…

Severe weather reports by kind, 2016 to 2026 (NOAA Storm Events)
KindReports
damaging thunderstorm wind45
river and street flooding37
hail16
flash floods12
Zone-wide advisories by kind, 2016 to 2026 (NOAA Storm Events)
KindReports
winter weather14
winter storms8
drought6

Source: NOAA Storm Events database, 2016-2026 · NOAA storm events · About this topic

Weather warnings

Every warning, watch and advisory the National Weather Service has issued for the county since 2015.

tornado warnings since 2015
15
severe thunderstorm warnings
206
flash flood warnings
31
winter storm or blizzard warnings
10
warnings, watches and advisories in all
844
National Weather Service products for Noble County since 2015 (Iowa Environmental Mesonet archive)
ProductCount
Tornado Warning15
Tornado Watch19
Severe Thunderstorm Warning206
Flash Flood Warning31
Areal Flood Warning75
Areal Flood Advisory45
Winter Storm Warning10
Winter Weather Advisory53
Excessive Heat Warning3
Heat Advisory18
Extreme Cold Warning1
Wind Chill Warning2
Tornado warnings by year
YearWarnings
20181
20201
20222
20231
20241
20251
20268

Source: National Weather Service warnings/watches/advisories, Iowa Environmental Mesonet VTEC archive, since 2015 · IEM warning archive · About this topic

Drought

How often the U.S. Drought Monitor has put the county in drought since 2000.

weeks in moderate drought or worse since 2020
38
of them severe or worse
25
most recently 25 weeks in 2024
weeks at least abnormally dry since 2020
77
of all weeks since 2000 in drought
5%

The worst reading since 2000 was exceptional drought in November 2024.

As of September 1, 2026: no drought.

Source: U.S. Drought Monitor weekly county statistics, 2000-2026 · U.S. Drought Monitor · About this topic

Hazard mitigation

FEMA-funded projects in the county that reduce future flood, storm and other losses: buyouts, plans, studies and equipment.

hazard mitigation projects since 1998
4
FEMA grants
total project worth
$1 million
$830,816 federal
properties covered
20

Largest: Acquisition of Private Real Property (Structures and Land) - Riverine for Noble County, $909,000 (fiscal 1998).

Mitigation projects by type since 1998 (OpenFEMA)
Project typeProjects
Acquisition of Private Real Property (Structures and Land) - Riverine3
Local Multihazard Mitigation Plan1

Source: OpenFEMA Hazard Mitigation Assistance projects, v4 API · OpenFEMA · About this topic

Air quality this year

The EPA's daily county air quality index for 2026 so far: how many days were good, moderate or worse, and the year's peak.

good air days in 2026 so far
82
of 85 days indexed through March 31, 2026
moderate days
3
days unhealthy for sensitive groups or worse
0
peak air quality index
71
Ozone, March 31, 2026

Source: EPA daily county AQI file for 2026 (January to the file's latest date) · EPA air data files · About this topic

Air toxics

The EPA's modeled lifetime cancer risk from outdoor air toxics across the county.

lifetime cancer risk from outdoor air toxics
30 in a million
EPA AirToxScreen 2020

Mostly formaldehyde (17.4 in a million) and carbon tetrachloride (2.9 in a million).

Source: EPA AirToxScreen 2020 · EPA AirToxScreen · About this topic

Fluoridated water

The share of county residents on community water whose water is fluoridated, from the Ohio Department of Health.

of residents on community water receive fluoridated water
100%

Source: Ohio Department of Health county fluoridation profiles (DataOhio) · ODH fluoridation report (DataOhio) · EPA SDWIS search · About this topic

House records

Where the house-by-house records on this county's ZIP pages come from, and how current they are.

parcel records placed on the map
4,498
snapshot of October 6, 2023

OGRIP Ohio Statewide Parcels, Noble County (thin records).

Office: Ohio Department of Administrative Services, Office of Information Technology (OGRIP), from the Noble County Auditor.

These are thin parcel records from the state's OGRIP compilation: location and class, without the auditor's appraisal detail.

4.1% of the parcels carry no land-use class.

Source: OGRIP Ohio Statewide Parcels, Noble County (thin records), snapshot 2023-10-06 · Ohio Department of Administrative Services · About this topic

Places

The 14 cities, villages and townships whose residents live mostly in Noble County, with the population of each.

ZIP codes

The 6 ZIP codes whose residents live mostly in Noble County, largest first. Each links to its own page; the water system column links to the utility serving most of its residents.

ZIP codes of Noble County: residents (2020 census), the water system serving most residents, radon, home value, school district and flood exposure
ZIPNameResidentsWater systemRadonHome valueSchool districtFlood
43724 Olive Township and Caldwell 8,865 Caldwell Village 23%
Mostly private wells
8.2 pCi/L average radon Median home $170,400 Caldwell Exempted Village 3 stars overall 2.8% of residents in the 1% floodplain
43779 Center Township and Sarahsville 888 Clear Water Corporation 18%
Mostly private wells
Too few radon tests Median home $163,800 Noble Local 3.5 stars overall 2.5% of residents in the 1% floodplain
43788 Marion Township and Summerfield 816 no mapped system Too few radon tests Median home $172,400 Noble Local 3.5 stars overall 2.9% of residents in the 1% floodplain
45727 Jackson Township and Dexter City 478 no mapped system Too few radon tests Median home $112,100 Caldwell Exempted Village 3 stars overall 0.0% of residents in the 1% floodplain
43717 Belle Valley 156 Noble County Water Authority 100%
Reservoirs & inland lakes
Too few radon tests Median home $72,500 Noble Local 3.5 stars overall 59% of residents in the 1% floodplain
43711 Buffalo Township and Ava 87 no mapped system Too few radon tests No Census data Noble Local 3.5 stars overall 37% of residents in the 1% floodplain

Source: residents: 2020 Census (POP100, ZCTA) · water systems: EPA SDWIS + service-area-boundary join · radon: Ohio Department of Health radon test results by ZIP since 2010 · home value: Census ACS 2020-2024 5-year by ZCTA (housing/commute tables) · school districts: Ohio school district boundaries (OGRIP via ODOT) · flood: FEMA National Flood Hazard Layer.

On the map

The map has no county view of its own yet: open it at 43724, the county's most populous ZIP code, and zoom out. Every ZIP code in the table above links to its page, and each page opens the map at that ZIP.

Rankings within the county

The county's ZIP codes ranked by what the map measures; each heading links to the topic's page.

Most snow

  1. 43788Marion Township and Summerfield17.4 in a year
  2. 43779Center Township and Sarahsville17.4 in a year
  3. 43717Belle Valley17.4 in a year
  4. 43711Buffalo Township and Ava17.4 in a year
  5. 45727Jackson Township and Dexter City15.7 in a year

Highest home values

  1. 43788Marion Township and Summerfield$172,400
  2. 43724Olive Township and Caldwell$170,400
  3. 43779Center Township and Sarahsville$163,800
  4. 45727Jackson Township and Dexter City$112,100
  5. 43717Belle Valley$72,500

Best school stars

  1. 43788Marion Township and Summerfield3.5 stars
  2. 43779Center Township and Sarahsville3.5 stars
  3. 43717Belle Valley3.5 stars
  4. 43711Buffalo Township and Ava3.5 stars
  5. 45727Jackson Township and Dexter City3.0 stars

Cite and data

Cite this page as:

Ohio Hometown Atlas (Open Shower Co), "Noble County", https://hometownatlas.openshowerco.com/county/noble/, built 2026-09-15, accessed [date].

Machine-readable: /api/county/noble.json (open JSON, CC BY 4.0 for the compilation; the underlying records keep their own terms) · How to cite · Report a correction · Built 2026-09-15