Water system
Enon Village
EPA ID OH1201812 · Clark County · 2,415 people served · owned by a local government
Enon Village treats its own water from Groundwater wells (4 wells).
The system's record
- Active wells
- 4
- Serves
- 2,415 people · Clark County
- EPA ID
- OH1201812
About this area's water
Did you know
- Enon is said to mean 'abundance of springs' - fitting for a village that runs entirely on wells in the Mad River Buried Valley Aquifer.
- The Enon water treatment plant is an ion-exchange softener, bringing finished water down to 8-10 grains per gallon of hardness in a region of hard limestone groundwater.
- Enon's distribution system has no lead service lines, no galvanized lines requiring replacement, and no unknown-material lines - the village confirmed this using construction and plumbing plans, visual inspection in…
- Enon's wells sit in a shallow aquifer less than 15 feet down with no protective clay cap near Enon Park, which is why Ohio EPA rates it highly susceptible - and why trace dry-cleaning and degreasing solvents turn up in…
- The village sits at a crossroads of deep history: Adena and Hopewell mound sites (the Campbell mounds), the Shawnee village of Old Piqua, an Indian trail to Old Chillicothe, and the old Springfield and Dayton Turnpike…
History5
- pre-1798First settlers arrive in Mad River Township. The area had earlier been occupied by the Adena, then the Hopewell (Campbell mounds), then the Shawnee at Old Piqua.
- 1838Site of Enon platted May 19, 1838 by Ezra Baker and Elnathan Corey; lots approved June 18, 1838.
- 1850Village of Enon incorporated March 15, 1850.
- 2004Ohio EPA completes a source water assessment of the Enon well field and finds the aquifer highly susceptible to contamination.
- 2025Enon held a current unconditional license to operate with no Ohio EPA monitoring violations; its four wells produced an average of 620,495 gallons per day.
Source: enon-oh.govenon-oh.gov
Treatment & pressure
How it is treated
Four wells in the Mad River Buried Valley Aquifer, in a well field on Enon Road just south of Interstate 70, produced an average of 620,495 gallons per day in 2025. The Enon Water Treatment Plant is an ion-exchange softening plant; average finished-water hardness is 8-10 grains per gallon. Water is…
Source: enon-oh.govenon-oh.gov
Water pressure
Not published. The 2025 CCR discusses pressure only generically, in the cross-connection/backflow section; no system pressure figure or pressure-zone map appears on the village…
Source: enon-oh.govenon-oh.gov
What it costs
$4.00 per 1,000 gallons
Typical household bill about $26 a month for water.
Monthly base charges effective January 2021: $26.00 inside the corporation and $28.00 outside, each covering the first 7,000 gallons; apartment units $24.50 inside / $26.50…
Source: enon-oh.gov
Water quality & impurities10
| Contaminant | Level | Limit | Year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nitrate Sampled 02/10/2025; range 4.04-4.04 mg/l. | 4.04 mg/l | 10 mg/l MCL | 2025 |
| Total Trihalomethanes (LRAA) Range 3.2-6.4 ug/l. HAA5 is not reported in this CCR, so the earlier 'TTHM/HAA5' label and 'limit not specified' were… | 6.4 ug/l | 80 ug/l MCL | 2025 |
| Fluoride (running annual average) Range 0.52-1.26 mg/l in the table; the fluoride information section separately cites a 2025 range of 0.25-1.30 mg/l.… | 1.133 mg/l | 4 mg/l MCL | 2025 |
| Total chlorine (running annual average) Range 0.540-0.950 mg/l. | 0.8525 mg/l | MRDL 4.0 mg/l | 2025 |
| Tetrachloroethene (PCE) Quarterly running annual average; range ND-0.40 ug/l. Typical source: discharge from factories and dry cleaners.… | 0.2067 ug/l | 5.0 ug/l MCL | 2025 |
| Trichloroethene (TCE) Quarterly running annual average; range ND-0.08 ug/l. Typical source: metal degreasing sites and other factories. | 0.067 ug/l | 5.0 ug/l MCL | 2025 |
| cis-1,2-Dichloroethene Quarterly running annual average. Discharge from industrial chemical factories. The CCR also lists… | 0.05 ug/l | 70.0 ug/l MCL | 2025 |
| Barium Sampled 01/30/2023; range 0.0526-0.0526 mg/l. | 0.0526 mg/l | 2 mg/l MCL | 2023 |
| Lead (90th percentile) Zero of 10 samples exceeded the action level; 90% of test levels were non-detect. | ND ug/l | 15 ug/l action… | 2023 |
| Copper (90th percentile) Zero of 10 samples exceeded the action level. | 0.18 mg/l | 1.3 mg/l action… | 2023 |
Source: enon-oh.gov
EPA compliance record
Lead at the tap: 90th-percentile result 0 ppb in 2023 (action level 15 ppb).
EPA record: no health-based violations since 2015.
1 violation of any kind logged since 2020: 1 for a report, record or notice that was missing, late or incomplete (the yearly water quality report, a public notice, lead line records).
Supply stress
Ohio EPA's 2004 source water assessment found the aquifer supplying Enon has HIGH susceptibility to contamination, on four grounds reproduced in the 2025 CCR: no protective clay layer over the aquifer near Enon Park; shallow aquifer depth, less than 15 feet below ground surface; significant potential…
Source: enon-oh.gov
Sewers
Sanitary
Not established. The village services index lists only Parks, Planning & Zoning, Police, Water, Streets and Forms - there is no sewer or wastewater department page - and the 2025 CCR does not identify a wastewater provider. Enon publishes nothing about who treats its sewage, at what rates, or under what permit. This is a genuine gap in…
Storm
Not established. No stormwater utility, fee, drainage program or flooding history is published on the village site.
Source: enon-oh.govenon-oh.gov
Sourcesverified
Compiled from the utility's own reports and public records, then independently re-checked against primary sources.
Main supplier in 1 ZIP code
Serves
Main water supplier in 1 ZIP code
- 45323 · Mad River Township and Enon50% of residents
Also present in 1 more ZIP code
- 45504 · Springfield5% of residents
Population-weighted resident shares; a ZIP code can have more than one system on record. Recomputed from each ZIP's own system list, not from the map's cached footprint.
Buys from · Sells to
Enon Village does not buy water from another system on record; it treats its own source water.
1 system on record buys water from Enon Village: Clark County Green Meadows 2.
What the records show about Enon Village
Who runs it
EPA's record describes Enon Village as owned by a local government. It has 1,304 service connections and serves 2,415 people.
EPA classes it as a community water system, one that serves the same residents all year.
EPA's record says it has substantially implemented source water protection under Ohio's program, dating the program from 2025. Its office telephone on EPA's record is 937-864-7870.
Source: EPA Safe Drinking Water Information System (SDWIS), water system record.
How the water is treated
EPA's treatment table registers these steps for Enon Village: chlorine disinfection, fluoridation, and ion-exchange softening.
The list is what each system registered with EPA for treatment plants EPA still shows as active, and it can lag a plant upgrade.
Source: EPA Safe Drinking Water Information System (SDWIS) treatment table (EPA Envirofacts, pulled September 2026).
Violations
EPA's record shows no health-based violations for Enon Village since 2015.
EPA logs 1 violation of any kind since 2020: 1 for a report, record or notice that was missing, late or incomplete (the yearly water quality report, a public notice, lead line records).
Source: EPA Safe Drinking Water Information System (SDWIS) violation records: health-based violations with compliance periods beginning in 2015 or later, all violations from 2020 or later (EPA Envirofacts, pulled September 2026).
Lead and copper at the tap
In the sampling period ending December 2023, the 90th-percentile lead result at Enon Village was 0 ppb, under both the current 15 ppb action level and the 10 ppb level that applies from 2027. A result of 0 means at least nine in ten of the homes sampled had no lead detected.
The highest result on file is 5.3 ppb, in the period ending December 2017.
EPA has 3 sampling periods on file for Enon Village since 2016, the first ending in 2017; no period was above 10 ppb.
Every water system has to inventory its service lines, the pipes from the main to each building. In the inventory Enon Village sent EPA, 1,306 lines are counted.
| Material | Lines |
|---|---|
| Lead | 0 |
| Galvanized, needing replacement | 0 |
| Unknown material | 0 |
| Not lead | 1,306 |
| All lines | 1,306 |
Systems sample taps in the homes most likely to have lead pipes or solder. The 90th-percentile result is the level nine in ten of the sampled homes were at or below. Lead comes mostly from service lines and house plumbing, not the source water, so a low result for the system does not clear an old house.
EPA's dashboard status for this inventory: reported all required service line types.
Source: EPA Safe Drinking Water Information System (SDWIS) lead and copper 90th-percentile results (EPA Envirofacts), sampling periods ending 2016 or later; EPA's service line inventory dashboard, Ohio's 2026 Q2 submission.
PFAS
Ohio EPA's own statewide sampling tested 1 plant of Enon Village (latest sample July 2020). Not one of the six PFAS tested (PFOA, PFOS, PFHxS, PFNA, GenX and PFBS) was detected.
Ohio EPA's current sampling status map lists 1 plant of Enon Village as sampled, most recently July 2026.
PFAS are the 'forever chemicals' from firefighting foam, plating shops and non-stick coatings. Results are for water leaving the plant, not your tap.
Source: EPA UCMR 5 occurrence data (final release, August 2026); Ohio EPA statewide PFAS sampling, 2019 to 2021, and its sampling status map.
Disinfection byproducts
Chlorine that disinfects water also reacts with organic matter to form byproducts. Two groups have federal limits: total trihalomethanes (TTHM, 80 µg/L) and five haloacetic acids (HAA5, 60 µg/L), judged on running yearly averages at each sampling site.
For TTHM, the average of Enon Village's samples in 2019, the last year it was sampled, was 9.8 µg/L. The worst yearly average was 10 µg/L and the highest single sample was 15.4 µg/L, from 14 samples taken from 2013 to 2019.
For HAA5, the average in the last year sampled was 1.1 µg/L. The worst yearly average was 2.5 µg/L and the highest single sample was 4.7 µg/L, from 14 samples.
| Byproduct | Limit | Latest yearly average | Worst yearly average | Highest sample | Samples |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TTHM | 80 µg/L | 9.8 µg/L (2019) | 10 µg/L | 15.4 µg/L | 14 |
| HAA5 | 60 µg/L | 1.1 µg/L | 2.5 µg/L | 4.7 µg/L | 14 |
A yearly average of 0 means nothing was detected in that year's samples. EPA's file stops at 2019; Ohio EPA's Drinking Water Watch has newer results.
Source: EPA Six-Year Review 4 compliance monitoring data, 2012 to 2019, distribution-system samples (non-detects counted as zero).
Nitrate, arsenic and radioactivity
Nitrate: the highest of 8 samples was 4.04 mg/L (as nitrogen) in 2016; in 2019, the last year sampled, the highest was 0.42 mg/L. No sample was over the limit of 10 mg/L. Nitrate above 10 is unsafe for infants.
Arsenic was not detected in 2 samples (limit 10 µg/L).
| Contaminant | Samples | Highest result | Limit | Samples over limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nitrate (as nitrogen) | 8 | 4.04 mg/L | 10 mg/L | 0 |
| Arsenic | 2 | not detected | 10 µg/L | 0 |
Measured in finished water: at the plant's entry points and in the distribution system; raw well and intake samples are left out. Non-detects count as zero.
Source: EPA Six-Year Review 4 compliance monitoring data, 2012 to 2019, finished water.
Solvents and fuels
EPA's file holds results for all six solvent and fuel compounds it checked. 1,2-dichloroethane was detected in 1 of 39 samples, highest 1.7 µg/L (limit 5); trichloroethylene (TCE) was detected in 12 of 39 samples, highest 1.67 µg/L (limit 5); tetrachloroethylene (PCE) was detected in 20 of 39 samples, highest 2.3 µg/L (limit 5). Benzene, carbon tetrachloride, and vinyl chloride were not detected in 39 samples each.
| Compound | Limit | Samples | Detected in | Highest result | Samples over limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Benzene | 5 µg/L | 39 | 0 of 39 | not detected | 0 |
| Carbon tetrachloride | 5 µg/L | 39 | 0 of 39 | not detected | 0 |
| 1,2-dichloroethane | 5 µg/L | 39 | 1 of 39 | 1.7 µg/L | 0 |
| Trichloroethylene (TCE) | 5 µg/L | 39 | 12 of 39 | 1.67 µg/L | 0 |
| Tetrachloroethylene (PCE) | 5 µg/L | 39 | 20 of 39 | 2.3 µg/L | 0 |
| Vinyl chloride | 2 µg/L | 39 | 0 of 39 | not detected | 0 |
"Not detected" means the lab's result was below what its method can measure, not that the compound is absent. Non-detects count as zero in the highest-result column.
Source: EPA Six-Year Review 4 compliance monitoring data, 2012 to 2019, finished water.
Farm chemicals and metals
EPA's file holds results for 8 of the nine herbicides and metals it checked. Detected: barium in 2 of 2 samples, highest 70.3 µg/L (limit 2,000). Not detected: atrazine, alachlor, chromium, cadmium, mercury, selenium, and thallium, in 2 samples each.
| Substance | Kind | Limit | Samples | Detected in | Highest result | Samples over limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Atrazine | Farm chemical | 3 µg/L | 2 | 0 of 2 | not detected | 0 |
| Alachlor | Farm chemical | 2 µg/L | 2 | 0 of 2 | not detected | 0 |
| Chromium | Metal | 100 µg/L | 2 | 0 of 2 | not detected | 0 |
| Cadmium | Metal | 5 µg/L | 2 | 0 of 2 | not detected | 0 |
| Barium | Metal | 2,000 µg/L | 2 | 2 of 2 | 70.3 µg/L | 0 |
| Mercury | Metal | 2 µg/L | 2 | 0 of 2 | not detected | 0 |
| Selenium | Metal | 50 µg/L | 2 | 0 of 2 | not detected | 0 |
| Thallium | Metal | 2 µg/L | 2 | 0 of 2 | not detected | 0 |
Non-detects count as zero in the highest-result column.
Source: EPA Six-Year Review 4 compliance monitoring data, 2012 to 2019, finished water.
Bacteria in the pipes
From 2012 to 2019, 3 of 344 routine total coliform samples taken in the distribution system at Enon Village tested positive (0.87%); in 2019, the last year on file, 0 of 24 did. E. coli was found in 2 of 220 samples tested for it.
A positive coliform test is a warning sign, not a violation by itself. E. coli is a sign that human or animal waste may have reached the water. Coliform counts are routine samples only; E. coli counts include repeat samples.
Source: EPA Six-Year Review 4 compliance monitoring data, 2012 to 2019, distribution-system presence/absence tests for total coliform and E. coli.
Fluoride
The Ohio Department of Health's report to the CDC (My Water's Fluoride) says Enon Village adjusts the fluoride level to the recommended level for preventing tooth decay.
EPA's treatment table lists fluoridation among the steps at Enon Village.
Measured fluoride: 0.94 mg/L on average at the plant's entry points in 2017 (in the range dentists aim for); samples ran from 0.94 to 1.08 mg/L across 2 samples in 2012 to 2019.
The recommended level for preventing tooth decay is 0.7 mg/L; the federal limit is 4 mg/L. The treatment list is what each system registered with EPA and can lag a plant upgrade.
Source: CDC My Water's Fluoride (fluoridation status as reported by the Ohio Department of Health, fetched September 2026); EPA Safe Drinking Water Information System (SDWIS) treatment table; EPA Six-Year Review 4 compliance monitoring data, 2012 to 2019, entry-point fluoride samples.
Water and sewer bills
Ohio EPA's 2023 rate survey puts the water bill at Enon Village for a household using 5,000 gallons a month at $312 a year, about $26 a month.
| Use | Water, per year | Sewer, per year |
|---|---|---|
| 2,500 gallons a month | $312 | not on file |
| 5,000 gallons a month | $312 | not on file |
| 8,000 gallons a month | $360 | not on file |
The survey lists it as “Enon”. These are inside-city rates and annual bills at the use shown.
Source: Ohio EPA 2023 Sewer and Water Rate Survey (Ohio State University, May 2025).
How well the service area is mapped
EPA estimated the service area of Enon Village with a computer model rather than drawing it from the utility's map, so its edges are approximate.
Counting the people who live in the ZIP codes it overlaps, this atlas estimates 3,487 residents are inside the boundary, 144% of the 2,415 people Enon Village reports serving.
The resident count is an estimate from 2020 Census ZIP-code populations, not a count of customers.
Source: EPA Service Area Boundaries; resident estimate by this atlas from ZIP-code overlap.
On the map
Show this system's territory on the map — 2 ZIP codes in all.
Sources
U.S. EPA SDWIS and Community Water System Service Area Boundaries (v3, 2026), Ohio EPA primacy data, 2020 census blocks: the system serving most residents, traced through purchases to the treating utility; Ohio EPA 2023 Sewer and Water Rate Survey (Ohio State, May 2025) for household bills; Ohio EPA DEFA loan awards since 2016 for the loans paragraph · EPA SDWIS · EPA service area boundaries · Ohio EPA drinking water · Ohio EPA rate survey
EPA's own record for this system: Enforcement and Compliance History report for OH1201812 (EPA ECHO).
Notable facts: enon-oh.gov, enon-oh.gov, enon-oh.gov
History: enon-oh.gov, enon-oh.gov
Water quality: enon-oh.gov
Water pressure: enon-oh.gov, enon-oh.gov
Rates: enon-oh.gov
Sewers: enon-oh.gov, enon-oh.gov
Treatment: enon-oh.gov, enon-oh.gov
Supply stress: enon-oh.gov
