{
  "type": "water",
  "pwsid": "OH1201812",
  "name": "Enon Village",
  "county": "Clark",
  "population": 2415,
  "producer": true,
  "source_class": "groundwater",
  "label": "Groundwater wells (4 wells)",
  "bodies": [],
  "intakes": [],
  "wells": 4,
  "aquifer": "",
  "notes": "",
  "urls": [],
  "chain": [
    "OH1201812"
  ],
  "plants": [],
  "facts": {
    "hist": [
      [
        "pre-1798",
        "First settlers arrive in Mad River Township. The area had earlier been occupied by the Adena, then the Hopewell (Campbell mounds), then the Shawnee at Old Piqua."
      ],
      [
        "1838",
        "Site of Enon platted May 19, 1838 by Ezra Baker and Elnathan Corey; lots approved June 18, 1838."
      ],
      [
        "1850",
        "Village of Enon incorporated March 15, 1850."
      ],
      [
        "2004",
        "Ohio EPA completes a source water assessment of the Enon well field and finds the aquifer highly susceptible to contamination."
      ],
      [
        "2025",
        "Enon held a current unconditional license to operate with no Ohio EPA monitoring violations; its four wells produced an average of 620,495 gallons per day."
      ]
    ],
    "treat": "Four wells in the Mad River Buried Valley Aquifer, in a well field on Enon Road just south of Interstate 70, produced an average of 620,495 gallons per day in 2025. The Enon Water Treatment Plant is an ion-exchange softening plant; average finished-water hardness is 8-10 grains per gallon. Water is…",
    "press": "Not published. The 2025 CCR discusses pressure only generically, in the cross-connection/backflow section; no system pressure figure or pressure-zone map appears on the village…",
    "rate": {
      "g": 4,
      "n": "Monthly base charges effective January 2021: $26.00 inside the corporation and $28.00 outside, each covering the first 7,000 gallons; apartment units $24.50 inside / $26.50…",
      "m": 26
    },
    "imp": [
      [
        "Nitrate",
        "4.04",
        "mg/l",
        "10 mg/l MCL",
        "2025",
        "Sampled 02/10/2025; range 4.04-4.04 mg/l. The earlier draft dated this 2023, which the CCR does not support."
      ],
      [
        "Total Trihalomethanes (LRAA)",
        "6.4",
        "ug/l",
        "80 ug/l MCL",
        "2025",
        "Range 3.2-6.4 ug/l. HAA5 is not reported in this CCR, so the earlier 'TTHM/HAA5' label and 'limit not specified' were…"
      ],
      [
        "Fluoride (running annual average)",
        "1.133",
        "mg/l",
        "4 mg/l MCL",
        "2025",
        "Range 0.52-1.26 mg/l in the table; the fluoride information section separately cites a 2025 range of 0.25-1.30 mg/l.…"
      ],
      [
        "Total chlorine (running annual average)",
        "0.8525",
        "mg/l",
        "MRDL 4.0 mg/l",
        "2025",
        "Range 0.540-0.950 mg/l."
      ],
      [
        "Tetrachloroethene (PCE)",
        "0.2067",
        "ug/l",
        "5.0 ug/l MCL",
        "2025",
        "Quarterly running annual average; range ND-0.40 ug/l. Typical source: discharge from factories and dry cleaners.…"
      ],
      [
        "Trichloroethene (TCE)",
        "0.067",
        "ug/l",
        "5.0 ug/l MCL",
        "2025",
        "Quarterly running annual average; range ND-0.08 ug/l. Typical source: metal degreasing sites and other factories."
      ],
      [
        "cis-1,2-Dichloroethene",
        "0.05",
        "ug/l",
        "70.0 ug/l MCL",
        "2025",
        "Quarterly running annual average. Discharge from industrial chemical factories. The CCR also lists…"
      ],
      [
        "Barium",
        "0.0526",
        "mg/l",
        "2 mg/l MCL",
        "2023",
        "Sampled 01/30/2023; range 0.0526-0.0526 mg/l."
      ],
      [
        "Lead (90th percentile)",
        "ND",
        "ug/l",
        "15 ug/l action…",
        "2023",
        "Zero of 10 samples exceeded the action level; 90% of test levels were non-detect."
      ],
      [
        "Copper (90th percentile)",
        "0.18",
        "mg/l",
        "1.3 mg/l action…",
        "2023",
        "Zero of 10 samples exceeded the action level."
      ]
    ],
    "proj": [],
    "plan": [],
    "stress": "Corrected from the earlier draft. Ohio EPA's 2004 source water assessment found the aquifer supplying Enon has HIGH susceptibility to contamination, on four grounds reproduced in the 2025 CCR: no protective clay layer over the aquifer near Enon Park; shallow aquifer depth, less than 15 feet below ground surface; significant potential…",
    "sew": {
      "s": "Not established. The village services index lists only Parks, Planning & Zoning, Police, Water, Streets and Forms - there is no sewer or wastewater department page - and the 2025 CCR does not identify a wastewater provider. Enon publishes nothing about who treats its sewage, at what rates, or under what permit. This is a genuine gap in…",
      "st": "Not established. No stormwater utility, fee, drainage program or flooding history is published on the village site."
    },
    "fun": [
      "Enon is said to mean 'abundance of springs' - fitting for a village that runs entirely on wells in the Mad River Buried Valley Aquifer.",
      "The Enon water treatment plant is an ion-exchange softener, bringing finished water down to 8-10 grains per gallon of hardness in a region of hard limestone groundwater.",
      "Enon's distribution system has no lead service lines, no galvanized lines requiring replacement, and no unknown-material lines - the village confirmed this using construction and plumbing plans, visual inspection in…",
      "Enon's wells sit in a shallow aquifer less than 15 feet down with no protective clay cap near Enon Park, which is why Ohio EPA rates it highly susceptible - and why trace dry-cleaning and degreasing solvents turn up in…",
      "The village sits at a crossroads of deep history: Adena and Hopewell mound sites (the Campbell mounds), the Shawnee village of Old Piqua, an Indian trail to Old Chillicothe, and the old Springfield and Dayton Turnpike…"
    ],
    "src": {
      "history": [
        "https://www.enon-oh.gov/community/history",
        "https://www.enon-oh.gov/uploads/2025-CCR-Final.pdf"
      ],
      "treatment": [
        "https://www.enon-oh.gov/uploads/2025-CCR-Final.pdf",
        "https://www.enon-oh.gov/services/water"
      ],
      "pressure": [
        "https://www.enon-oh.gov/uploads/2025-CCR-Final.pdf",
        "https://www.enon-oh.gov/services/water"
      ],
      "rates": [
        "https://www.enon-oh.gov/services/water"
      ],
      "impurities": [
        "https://www.enon-oh.gov/uploads/2025-CCR-Final.pdf"
      ],
      "water_stress": [
        "https://www.enon-oh.gov/uploads/2025-CCR-Final.pdf"
      ],
      "sewer": [
        "https://www.enon-oh.gov/services",
        "https://www.enon-oh.gov/uploads/2025-CCR-Final.pdf"
      ],
      "fun_facts": [
        "https://www.enon-oh.gov/community/history",
        "https://www.enon-oh.gov/uploads/2025-CCR-Final.pdf",
        "https://www.enon-oh.gov/uploads/documents/Village-of-Enon-Lead-and-Copper-Final.pdf"
      ]
    }
  },
  "zips_served": [
    {
      "zip": "45323",
      "share": 0.5013,
      "dominant": true
    },
    {
      "zip": "45504",
      "share": 0.053,
      "dominant": false
    }
  ],
  "photo": null,
  "url": "https://crackedbuckeye.com/water/OH1201812/",
  "api": "https://crackedbuckeye.com/api/water/OH1201812.json",
  "generated": "2026-09-16",
  "license": "CC BY 4.0 for the compilation; each source keeps its own terms",
  "cite": "Cracked Buckeye (Open Shower Co), \"Enon Village · OH1201812\", https://crackedbuckeye.com/water/OH1201812/, built 2026-09-16, accessed [date].",
  "schema": "https://crackedbuckeye.com/api/schema.json"
}
